A Chance to Dance in the Big Apple

The competitive teams at Rockford School of Dance recently returned from the Dance America/Dance Olympus Competition at the Paramount Theatre in Aurora, Illinois. It was a very successful weekend with all of our teams winning 1st place trophies. All three teams qualified to go to the Dance America Nationals in New York City this coming July.

The Primary Team was awarded a 1st place for their tap performance of Happy Radio as well as Best Precision for Primary/Junior dances. They received a 1st place for their jazz dance Itsy Bitsy Spider which also received the Primary/Junior Overall High Score Award, Large Group. The Primary Team includes Taylor Blackburn, Madelyn Butts, Carmen Goodson, Hannah Miller, Madeline Newman, Emily Page, Jillian Roney, Hailey Smith, Sydney Stites and Annika Trierweiler.

The Junior Team took 1st place in both of their dances, This is the House that Jack Built (Jazz) and Bang the Drum (Tap). Our Junior Team members are Abigail Anthony, Lauren Dilly, Jacklyn Eding, Ilene Gould, Hali Maybank, Abby McKay, Amanda Schultz, Ashley Serbenta and Paige Wolterstorff.

Our Advanced Team brought home three 1st place trophies for their jazz performances of Footloose, High Energy and All Things Just Keep Getting Better. Their tap number, Big Noise from Winnetka received a 2nd Place. The Advanced Team dancers are Ona Andrews, Katelyn Cooper, Ashley Day, Kendall DeVries, Anna Dood, Savanna Fisher, Nora Fitzgerald, Kara Greenberg, Kenzie Hanson, Katie Hunsberger, Shannon Kelley, Lexie Leonard, Amanda Maguire, Hannah Maroe, David Maybank, Riley Thomas, Kaylin Walters and Hanna Watters.

Also performing this weekend was our Small Group Hip Hop, Skippin’ which received 4th place. Several duos performed as well, Ona Andrews/Hanna Watters, Ojos Asi, 4th place; Ashley Day/Riley Thomas, Let’s Get Loud, 3rd place and Katie Hunsberger/Shannon Kelley, Knock on Wood, 1st place.

We had seven soloists in the competition this year. Katelyn Cooper, Hush, 3rd place Kara Greenberg, Big Time, 2nd place Lexie Leonard, Nothing But a T Shirt, Merit; Amanda Maguire, Hit Me with a Hot Note, 5th place; Hannah Maroe, My Strongest Suit, 2nd place; David Maybank, Time of My Life, 1st place; and Kaylin Walters, Something’s Gotta Give, 1st place.

Special congratulations to Kara Greenberg, David Maybank and Kaylin Walters who qualified for Nationals and the Dancer of the Year program, and to Hannah Maroe who qualified for Nationals.

We are looking forward to our Spring Recital, Grand Rapids and Rockford Festival performances and many more successes in New York this summer.

About Squire News 6221 Articles
The Squire has been Rockford’s free weekly newspaper since 1871. Our loyal readership includes over fifteen thousand homes in the Rockford area, including the affluent Lakes area of Lake Bella Vista, Bostwick Lake and Silver Lake; Belmont, Blythefield, as well as Algoma, Courtland, Cannon and Plainfield Townships. The Squire is distributed through the U.S. Post Office every Thursday. We also deliver to in-town businesses and homes with paper carriers and news stands in our grocery stores and over thirty local shops.