Winners announced for annual BeeVee Film Awards

Like a scene out of Hollywood, actors, actresses, directors and producers waited in line to walk down the red carpet leading to the fourth annual BeeVee Film Awards at Bella Vista Church in Rockford. As cameras flashed, the young people posed for their adoring fans and were interviewed by ceremonies co-host Brad Spead on their accomplishments for this year’s short film awards.

Best Supporting Actor Ryan Siekman escorts Julia Hagedorn down the red carpet for the fourth annual BeeVee Film Awards.

The formal ceremony opened with a dazzling performance by the award-winning Junior Competitor Dancers from Rockford School of Dance. The dance team recently won their regional competition held in Detroit and are preparing for their national competition in Orlando, Fla. in July.

Hostess for the evening, Student Ministries Director Lisa Henderson, welcomed the audience to an evening where “the sublime meets the ridiculous.” The audience members were then treated to a vast array of film shorts showcasing the talents of the junior and senior high students.

Winners in each film category were presented with a golden statue, similar to Hollywood’s Oscar, by the BeeVee girls Megan George and Brianne Melton.

Julia Hagedorn, Shannon Pinner and Bethany Lemke of “Love Story” arrive at the event.

This year’s special lifetime achievement award was presented to Bethany Lemke for perfecting her role portraying creepy male stalkers. Her talents were showcased in the Best Film and Best Music Video winner “Love Story” directed by Shannon Pinner.

Other winners include:

• Best Actress: Hanna Lemke, “Love Story”

• Best Supporting Actress: Halley Devon, “Romeo and Juliet”

• Outstanding Performance—Child Actor: Audrey Rinck, “Larry the Stalker”

• Best Actor: Jacob Hughey, “The Big One”

• Best Supporting Actor: Ryan Siekman, “Romeo and Juliet at the Jersey Shore”

• Best Director: Shannon Pinner “Love Story”

• Best Technical Achievement—Editing: Jarren Harkema, “Time Traveler Trouble”

• Best Music Video: “Love Story” directed by Shannon Pinner

• Best Comedy: “The Big One” directed by Jacob and Jenny Hughey

• Best Drama: “Romeo and Juliet” directed by Sarah McLellan

• Best Christian Film: “The Question” directed by Seventh-Grade Boys Small Group

• Best Animated Film: “Time Travel Trouble” by Jarren Harkema and Calvin Hartley

• Best Thriller: “Larry the Stalker” directed by Miranda Rinck

Other Stories from the Squire

Top News…

View More:

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters recently named Rockford High School’s video production … [Continue Reading...]


Business under new ownership By BETH ALTENA   Chad Momber has been in trucking all … [Continue Reading...]


By BETH ALTENA   The EXPO doesn’t lie. It just doesn’t know who it is talking to. … [Continue Reading...]

The Plainfield Township Board of Trustees recognized five children from a local family with a … [Continue Reading...]

More Posts from this Category

In Other News

Knowing Your Competition   by David Broyles SCORE Counselor   Regardless of … [Continue Reading...]

Downtown Rockford was as busy this sidewalk sale week as in past years, despite a heat index of over … [Continue Reading...]

Rockford resident, writer and photographer John Hogan shared this picture with the Squire. The … [Continue Reading...]

David S. Fry

They wrote the book on cottage law—literally Recently, Attorney David S. Fry opened the … [Continue Reading...]

More Posts from this Category

Speak Your Mind