Rockford’s athletic scholars honored at ceremony

A computer glitch made this picture unavailable when we published a story several weeks ago about the record-setting student athletes who are signed on with collegiate scholarships. We are pleased to be able to print it now in addition to the names of the 2010 Rockford High School (RHS) graduates who proceed to higher education and college or university athletic programs.

These students are all signed and ready to continue their athletic careers beyond their high school years with Rockford. Photo by TOM SCOTT

Pictured, but not in this order, are:

• basketball: Jacob Greene for Calvin College, Brent Henry for Calvin College, Megan Kelley for Hope College, Caitlyn Patterson for Calvin College;

• cheer: Torri Mills for Michigan State University;

• crew: Olivia Kacsits for Notre Dame;

• golf: Trent Davison for Ferris State University;

• football: Taylor Masiewicz for Ferris State University, Paul Mudgett for Central Michigan University, Josh Pribble for Grand Rapids Community College, Joe Stefanski for Ohio University;

• lacrosse: Meagan Emery for Drexel University, Alexia O’Connor for Grand Valley State University, Andi Raymond for Towson University, Kelsei Streeter for Grand Valley State University;

• softball: Lauren Pasciak for Cornerstone University, Haley Pattok for Davenport University, Morgan Ruchty for Ferris State University, Karliane Showers for Grand Rapids Community College;

• swimming/diving: Erica Cutler for Bowling Green State University, Jessica Cutler for Bowling Green State University, Alex DeVries for Ramapo College of New Jersey, Brian Ginebaugh for Stevens Institute of Technology New Jersey;

• soccer: Samantha Decker for Grand Valley State University, Sean Lewis for Western Michigan University;

• track: Charlie Anel for Grand Valley State University, Sarah Birkmeier for Michigan State University, Katie Carlson for Hope College, Grant Gunneson for Aquinas College, Rachel Herald for United States Air Force Academy, Rachel Jerrils for Davenport University, Nick Shear for Taylor University, Margaret Smiley for New York University, Chris Wierengo for Northwood University;

• volleyball: Kylie Basarabski for Northern Michigan University, Cailie Johnson for Grand Valley State University, Kim Weaver for Grand Rapids Community College;

• wrestling: Jake Byers for Eastern Michigan University, Jake Dorulla for Eastern Michigan University, Jake Johnson for Eastern Michigan University, and Jake Scholten for Saint Augustine College, Ill.

• • •

Other Stories from the Squire

Top News…


Event during National Law Enforcement Recognition Week   Rockford North Rockford Middle … [Continue Reading...]

pic from Cindy

  This year’s Relay for Life in Rockford, with the theme of superheroes, had plenty of … [Continue Reading...]

Photo 8

ROCKFORD, Mich., May 5, 2015 – The Rockford Education Foundation (REF) has chosen a program that … [Continue Reading...]


John Bitely of Sable Development talks to the board about his intentions to remove sand from acreage … [Continue Reading...]

More Posts from this Category

In Other News

Knowing Your Competition   by David Broyles SCORE Counselor   Regardless of … [Continue Reading...]

Downtown Rockford was as busy this sidewalk sale week as in past years, despite a heat index of over … [Continue Reading...]

Rockford resident, writer and photographer John Hogan shared this picture with the Squire. The … [Continue Reading...]

David S. Fry

They wrote the book on cottage law—literally Recently, Attorney David S. Fry opened the … [Continue Reading...]

More Posts from this Category

Speak Your Mind