Rockford High School Ski Race season begins

By Nancy Yeager

After the first race of the season was cancelled January 8th due to rain, the Rockford race teams were ready and excited to push through the start gate on Thursday, January 10th to officially start the 2019 race season. Coaching the Men’s and Women’s JV and Varsity teams this year are Head Coach, Michael Thomas, and Assistant Coach, Carlee McCardel. The two new coaches and their teams of 24 racers are off to a great start! The Thursday night race was a combined JV/Varsity Slalom race. Ten area schools competed.

The Rockford Women’s Varsity Team had an impressive 2nd place finish following only Forest Hills Central. The top three racers on the Women’s Varsity team, were Karsen Ford (6th overall), Captain, Haley Yeager (11th overall), and Maurah Gorney (12th overall). Parker Wilson (16th), Riley Peterson (22nd), and Kaitlyn Kozicki (31st) rounded out the team to lead them to their 2nd place finish.

The Men’s Varsity Team finished respectably in 5th place. Team Leader and Captain, Nick Rupert finished (1st place overall). Nick, the 2018 State Champion, dominated the entire field of competition! Along with Rupert, Evan Orvis (19th), Derrick Schurring (24th), Nathan Vanderwal (30th), Jacob Walsh, and Ian Henschell complete the Rockford Men’s Varsity Team.

The Women’s JV Team earned an awesome 3rd place position following Forest Hills Northern/ Eastern in 1st, and East Grand Rapids in 2nd place. The top three JV women were Amanda Skarda (6th), Caitlin Peters (12th), Rachel Lewis (18th). Clara Wyman (24th), Grace Anderson (25th), and Jessica Mottl (30th) were instrumental point grabbers for the JV women’s finish.

The Men’s JV Team scored an 8th place finish. The top three Rockford JV men were, Will Carlson (18th), Will Male (29th), and Matt Gillette (33rd). Asher Mixon (37th), Nic Molchan, and Ian Bacon round out the JV Men’s Team.

Races start at 4:30pm with Varsity competing on Tuesdays, and JV on Thursdays. Bundle up and head on out to Cannonsburg to cheer on the RHS Race Teams!