River Valley Academy 2010 graduates

Allecia R. Avery Brandi T. Barresi Christopher J. Barrentine Ronald J. Brow Ryan R. Card Britney C. Combs Timothy J. Daly Casey R. Elston Alisa J. Felty Andrew C. Johnson Stephen A. Johnson Stephanie M. Kilmer Tyler M. Ly Daniel K. McGovern Keller M. McInerney Nicholas A. Miles Chelsea E. Newman Cheyanne C. Prominski Amanda […]

Last chance to nominate outstanding Rockford grads

New RPS Hall of Fame accepting nominations through June 15 Time is running out to nominate an outstanding Rockford graduate for the new Rockford Public Schools Hall of Fame. Nominations are being accepted for the inaugural class of the Hall of Fame through June 15 using forms available at www.rockfordschools.org. The Hall of Fame, sponsored […]

Rockford OM teams sweep top 10 spots at world competition

Six Rockford Odyssey of the Mind teams participated in the world finals competition held at Michigan State University in East Lansing from May 26 to 29. Rockford has been involved in Odyssey of the Mind for 22 years and, for the first time, all teams competing at the world level placed in the top 10. […]

Area student receives first-year writing prize

Jillian Haverkate

Rockford graduate Jillian Haverkate, a Hope College freshman from Ada, received the Stephenson First-Year Writing Prize during the college’s annual Convocation on Thursday, April 29. The prize, awarded each semester to the author of the paper selected as the best submitted in the first-year writing course, is given to encourage young writers.

Education Blackboard — June 3, 2010

Rockford art students participate in ‘Children Make Art For Children’ by MIKE WESTGATE Assistant Principal East Rockford Middle School “Children have a very, very uninhibited point of view,” said Linda LaFontsee, who, along with the LaFontsee Galleries staff, will provide and frame all artwork for the $286 million 14-story Helen DeVos Children’s Hospital slated to […]