Local students named essay contest winners

Essay contest winners (l–r) Grant Goodfellow, Annah Hillary and Katie LaBarge earn first-, second- and third-place awards for Assumption School in Belmont. All three received award certificates.

  Three students from Assumption School in Belmont have been named local winners in the 41st annual America & Me Essay Contest, sponsored by Farm Bureau Insurance. The three students who earned the first-, second- and third-place awards for their school are Annah Hillary (first place), Grant Goodfellow (second), and Katie LaBrage (third). All three […]

Education Blackboard — February 25, 2010

SCHOOL BEAT RPS to utilize SchoolMessenger, another form of communication by DOUG  VANDERJAGT, Principal Rockford Freshman Center Starting in March, Rockford Public Schools (RPS) has signed on with SchoolMessenger, a California-based company that provides notification services for emergency broadcasts, parental outreach and student attendance communications for K-12 education. The system is programmed to call the […]

School Beat — February 18, 2010

NRMS pilots Ram Buddies program by LARRY WATTERS, Assistant Principal North Rockford Middle School In the words of Albus Dumbledore from the Harry Potter series, “It is our choices, Harry, that show what we really are, far more than our abilities.” One of the choices we have made this year at Rockford Public Schools that […]

Education Blackboard

Ed Lyons

Lyons on Deans List at Ferris State University  Former Rockford High School graduate Nicholas Lyons has earned a place on the College of Engineering Technology Dean’s List for the 2009 fall semester at Ferris State University, College of Technology. The minimum requirement for the Dean’s List is a 3.50 honor point average for a 12 […]

North Rockford Middle School Honor Roll

Eighth Grade Allyson Andrews, Rebecca Andris, Aubrye Brower, Alexandra Brown Jennifer Brown, Tiffany Carlson, Michael Collins, Brendan Dewitt, Tyler Deyoung Mikayla Dlouhy, Katherine Flynn, Katelyn Fridsma, Brenna Friedl, Brett Garchow Randy Garvin, Connor Groom, Taylor Haan, Nicholas Hamilton, Jacob Harkema Seth Hodges, Mitchell Kerkstra, Justin Konsdorf, Riley Manier, Tiffany Mann Stephen McCormick, Stephanie Mull, Lindsey Normington, Derick Owen Michael Powell, Lauren Pratt, Sean Ribbens, Bethany Roobol, Sierra Rosema Paul Sampson, Laura Sanders, Cameron Simonton, Jonah Taylor, Riley Thomas Troy Truxton, Rachel Turner, Alyssa VanVliet, Jason Walburg, Derek Williams Shannon […]