ArtPrize 2011

ArtPrize 2011 registration dates announced

March 10, 2011 // 0 Comments

Officials of ArtPrize, a radically open art competition giving away the world’s largest art prize, have announced the 2011 registration dates for venues and artists and special dates for submitting art to be installed in the Grand River. ArtPrize 2011 will run from September 21 through October 9. “The artist and venue registration process was developed during the last two years based on feedback provided from artists, venues, city hall and ArtPrize visitors,” said Rick DeVos, ArtPrize founder. Key dates for ArtPrize 2011 include: • Venue registration opens Monday, March 14, and closes Thursday, April 14 at 5 p.m. • Artist registration opens Monday, April 18, and closes Thursday, June 16 at 5 p.m. • Artist/Venue matching opens Tuesday, May 31, and closes Thursday, June 30 at 5 p.m. “A lot of the most memorable work in the event is created for a specific space,” said ArtPrize Executive Director Bill Holsinger-Robinson. “Artists will know all the available venues as they register.” Holsinger-Robinson cautions artists, “The vast majority of artists who did not secure a venue in 2010 were the ones who signed up at the last minute. Register early.” Any art proposed for installation in the Grand River, which runs through the heart of the three-square-mile ArtPrize district, must be submitted to the City of Grand Rapids and the Department of Natural Resources and Environment (DNRE) according to the following schedule: • Pre-application filed with the City by Monday, March 28 • Application filed with the DNRE by Friday, April 8. The DNRE will process the application using the following steps: public notice period begins Friday, April 22, and ends Friday, May 13; public hearing, if requested, will be Friday, June 10; required time for comments will be Monday, June 20. • Permit decision by Wednesday, June 29. “This process allows the City to review proposed work to ensure that there is artistic quality and structural integrity to the proposed installations,”said José Reyna, fiscal services manager for the City of Grand Rapids. “The DNRE application will review the proposed installations in the context of environmental, structural and navigability impact on the river.” As in 2010, ArtPrize will partner with institutions such as the Grand Rapids Art Museum, the Urban Institute for Contemporary Arts and others […]