Michigan Manufacturing Association

Jansen named MMA Legislator of the Year

July 19, 2012 // 0 Comments

Sen. Mark C. Jansen was named Legislator of the Year by the Michigan Manufacturing Association (MMA) at the association’s annual reception on Tuesday, May 8. “It is my true honor and personal pleasure to present Senator Mark Jansen with the MMA Legislator of the Year Award for 2011,” said MMA President and CEO Chuck Hadden. “There may be no legislator who has personally done more to implement genuine structural reforms to streamline government, reduce costs and improve the competitiveness of our state than Senator Mark Jansen.” Hadden added, “Senator Jansen’s tenacious leadership, depth of knowledge and wide scope of influence has resulted in truly historic progress in reforming, restructuring and reinventing Michigan’s business climate. His accomplishments will stand tall in the history of Michigan.” The Legislative and Executive Reception, held at the MMA office in Lansing, provided an opportunity for manufacturers and lawmakers to network and discuss current legislative activity. During the event, MMA honored several legislators for their efforts to develop legislative and regulatory policies that allow manufacturers to continue expansion and job creation. “I was elected to fix a broken, ineffective state government and help reinvent Michigan into a state that is robust and competitive in the market for jobs and investment,” said Jansen, R-Gaines Township. “It is an honor to be recognized for the months of hard work, but the most rewarding part for me is seeing our efforts already working to energize our economy and create jobs.” He added, “Michigan still faces challenges, but we have taken great strides toward putting Michigan on solid footing for long-term economic prosperity and growth.” In addition to naming Jansen as Legislator of the Year of 2011, the MMA honored Rep. Wayne Schmidt, R-Traverse City, as House Advocate of the Year for 2011 and Sen. Arlan Meekhof, R-West Olive, as Senate Advocate of the Year for 2011. The MMA Legislator of the Year award and the Advocate of the Year awards are given to recognize forward-thinking, action-oriented policy leaders who understand the importance of manufacturing to Michigan’s past, present and future; a true pro-manufacturing leader.