Rams boys lacross players

Post season honors for several Rams lacrosse players

July 2, 2009 // 0 Comments

        by SUE POUBA The 2009 season was a series of firsts for Rockford’s boys lacrosse season. This year, for the first time since the inception of the boys lacrosse program, the Rams were victorious over both East Grand Rapids and Forest Hills Central teams. These two teams are perennial state powerhouses and these victories were certainly a sign of how far the Rockford program has advanced and the level of play they’ve achieved. Given their successful 11-6 season, the Rams were well-represented in post-season honors. Nick Howard was named a recipient of the MHSLCA Gene Reilly Unsung Hero Award. This award is for players who may not get statewide recognition, but whose hustle, tenacity and competitive spirit aids in the success of their team. Other Rams receiving post-season honors include: All Conference:  Travis Guest, DJ Lubs, Shea Mills, Jeremy Pouba, Cooper Sturr; All Region:  Eric Datema, Michael DeWitt, Derek Korthuis, Pouba, CJ Scholl, Sturr; All State:  Lubs (First Team), Mills (Third Team), Pouba (Second Team), Ray Sabon (First Team), Andy Shira (Honorable Mention), and Gabe Speirs (Third Team). Lubs was a unanimous selection for First Team All State, which made him eligible for another Rockford first for the 2009 season:  a selection as a high school All American. And on Sunday, June 7, Lubs became the first Rockford player to be named a high school All American for the state of Michigan. A long-stick player, Lubs excelled for the Rams on defense as well as a long-stick midfield. Several graduating seniors are also moving on to play lacrosse in college. Speirs, Shira and Sabon will play at Michigan State University. Pouba and Scholl will play for Grand Valley State University. Gabe Stulp will play at Indiana Tech, and Lubs will be playing for Florida Southern.