Rockford School Board

School board leaders honored this month

January 14, 2010 // 0 Comments

    Governor Jennifer Granholm and the State Board of Education have recognized January as School Board Recognition Month, and Rockford Public Schools is joining 552 local and 57 intermediate school districts across the state to thank these community volunteers for their untiring dedication to public education. “Michiganders benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 4,000 men and women across the state,” said Superintendent Michael Shibler. “These public servants are elected to serve by our community and receive little recognition for the difficult job that they do. They are dedicated individuals who are committed to the continuing success of our schools and students.” In a climate of change and challenge, school board members in Rockford develop policies and make tough decisions on complex educational and social issues that affect the entire community and impact individual students. They bear responsibility an oversight for an annual budget of over $72 million, over 8,000 students, 1,000 employees and 17 buildings. “We proudly join educators and community members in saluting these education advocates as they provide vision and leadership for student achievement, academic programs, district funding and school facilities. Their service ensures that decisions about local public schools are made by those most familiar with the needs of our community’s children and families,” said Shibler. “They preserve the core of our democracy—public education.” Board members were formally recognized at the January 11 Board of Education meeting at Belmont Elementary School. The men and women currently serving on the Rockford Public Schools Board of Education (with first year elected) are: • Tamara J. Schollaart, President (1998) • David M. Keller, Vice President (2006) • Laura L. Featherston, Treasurer (2006) • Charles F. Boekeloo, Secretary (1998) • Carol A. Hillman, Trustee (2003) • Miles J. Postema, Trustee (2004) • Randall C. Sellhorn, Trustee (1995)